I haz a novel

Standard

Finished NaNoWriMo today, and for the first time I can say I have a novel.  A whole novel.  It still needs work, but it’s there – beginning, middle, and end.  Characters and plot (more or less) and all that jazz.  It’s an idea I’ve played with for quite a while.  Back in July or August, I sat down and wrote a basic outline, and in September I wrote a rough draft.  Now I’ve gone through the rough draft and turned it into a good, solid first draft.  But…

It’s fanfiction.  Based on WoW, of course.  I can’t publish it.  Not as is, anyway.

Now I have to decide what to do with it.  The following options come to mind:

  1. Nothing.  Set it aside, be proud of myself for having completed it, and move on to something else.
  2. ‘Publish’ it online, as is.  I’ve read fanfiction novels online.  It’s a possibility.
  3. Rewrite it to remove the WoW parts and try to get it really published that way.

At least I don’t have to decide now.  It can sit there and wait till I decide what to do.  (Yes, I’ve got it saved in a couple different places.)  Meanwhile, I’ll pat myself on the back, start looking at Christmas lists, and go play some WoW.  I hear Koltira Deathweaver is coming back in Legion, and my death knight wants to be ready.  She’s still got a couple levels to go before she hits 100.

Leave a Reply

